Dilip Vengsarkar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rohit Sharma receive BCCI awards

Updated: Nov 21, 2014, 21:25 IST | PTI

Former captain Dilip Vengsarkar received the prestigious BCCI-instituted Col. C K Nayudu Lifetime achievement award for his contribution to Indian cricket on Friday, even as Indian medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma were rewarded for their stupendous displays in the season

Former captain Dilip Vengsarkar on Friday received the prestigious BCCI-instituted Col. C K Nayudu Lifetime achievement award for his contribution to Indian cricket.

The 58-year-old Vengsarkar played 116 Test matches after coming into national prominence with a belligerent hundred for Mumbai against the Rest of India in the Irani Cup game at the start of the 1975-76 season.

Parvez RasoolBCCI Secretary Sanjay Patel felicitates J&K all-rounder Parvez Rasool at the BCCI award in Mumbai on Friday. 

He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and the World Championship of Cricket in 1985, and he led India in 10 Tests in 1987-89. He was Chairman of the BCCI's Talent Research Development Committee for three years, and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.

"I thank BCCI for this honour. Looking at the names of players who have won the award makes me proud to be part of this select group," said Vengsarkar.

Vengsarkar also thanked his school (King George of old and Raja Shivaji now), Podar College, Mumbai university, Dadar Union club and also former BCCI joint secretary Prof. Chandgadkar for the help they gave him during his playing days.

"I dreamed of playing for Mumbai and then for India and I enjoyed every innings, Test match, ODI and every tour as part of the Indian team," said Vengsarkar, who received the award from Board's interim president Shivlal Yadav.

He also wished the Indian cricket team success in the upcoming tour of Australia for which the team is to depart later tonight as well as in the World Cup that follows.

Indian medium-pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma, both members of the squad that is to leave for Australia tonight, were also rewarded for their stupendous displays in the season.

Kumar received the Polly Umrigar award and a cheque of Rs 5 lakh for his superb display with the ball and bat while Sharma received a special award for slamming a world record 264 in the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka in the recent series. 

"It's a great feeling to get the award. It will motivate me to do better," said Kumar.

List of awardees:
Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award: Dilip Vengsarkar
Polly Umrigar award for India's best international cricketer: Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Lala Amarnath award for best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy: Parvez Rasool (Jammu-Kashmir)
Lala Amarnath award for best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs tournaments: R Vinay Kumar (Karnataka)
Madhavrao Scindia award for highest run-scorer in Ranji Trophy: Kedar Jadhav (Maharashtra)
Madhavrao Scindia award for highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy: Rishi Dhawan (Himachal Pradesh)
MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-25 cricketer: Rahul Tripathi (Maharashtra)
MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-19 cricketer: B Anirudh (Hyderabad)
MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Under-16 cricketer: Shubham Gill (Punjab)
MA Chidambaram Trophy Best Woman cricketer: Smriti Mandhana (Maharashtra) 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com


Masterclass with Former National champion Kamlesh Mehta

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK