Dilip Vengsarkar won't contest MCA polls this time

Oct 12, 2013, 04:01 IST | Harit N Joshi

It's official! Dilip Vengsarkar will not be contesting in the October 18 biennial polls of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA).

The former India skipper, who put up a brave fight against the late Vilasrao Deshmukh for the president’s post in the last elections in 2011, has decided not to give it a second try this time. MCA did not receive any nomination from Vengsarkar as the list was finalised yesterday.

Dilip Vengsarkar
Dilip Vengsarkar

Vengsarkar had kept his plans under wraps till the last moment, weighing all his options. The move to keep it quiet could well have backfired as he soon began losing a few key members from his group, who fiercely fought against the ruling Bal Mahaddalkar group.

For the president’s post, Gopinath Munde will fight it out against former MCA chief Sharad Pawar, who headed MCA from 2001 to 2011. Pawar is already assured of unanimous support from all three groups — Bal Mahaddalkar group, Vijay Patil’s Cricket First and Prof Ratnakar Shetty’s group. The final date of withdrawals is October 14.

For the two vice-president’s posts, eight candidates — Vinod Deshpande, Ravi Mandrekar, Sanjay Patil, Vijay Patil, Lalchand Rajput, Ravi Savant, Shekhar Shetty and Pankaj Thakur — have filed their nominations.

Five candidates — Pravin Barve, Deshpande, Mayank Khandwala, Mandrekar, Savant — will vie for the Treasurer’s post. And 10 candidates Nitin Dalal, Dr PV Shetty, Barve, Deshpande, Dr Unmesh Khanvilkar, Abey Kuruvilla (former India pacer), Nadim Memon, Rajput, Atul Ranade and Shaikh Shah Alam — will contest for two Joint Honorary Secretary’s posts. And 39 candidates will compete for the 11 managing committee posts.

Go to top