Durban ODI: South Africa thrash hapless India by 134 runs

Published: 08 December, 2013 22:20 IST | Agencies |

South Africa has clinched the three-match series, beating India by 134 runs in the second ODI at the Kingsmead here Sunday.

Pace once again proved to be the undoing of Team India with South Africa thrashing the visitors by by 134 runs at Kingsmead, Durban on Sunday.

Led by pacer Dale Steyn, South Africa's battery of pacemen humiliated India's vaunted top order to dismiss the tourists for 146 in the 36th over.

The Proteas' strategy of attacking the Indian batsmen with testing deliveries that climbed into the chest of the batsmen worked once again.

Chasing 281 to win, none of the Indian batsmen could mount a challenge and looked out-of-sorts throughout.  

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina fends one during his brief stay at the crease at Kingsmead on Sunday. Pic/AFP

Left-arm Lonwabo Tsotsobe ended with 4 wickets for 25 runs and Steyn claimed three for 17.

This is India's first series loss in 2013 after winnign six consecutive ones.

India got off to a horrendous start losing both opener Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli for a duck. Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane, brought in place of Yuvraj Singh, didn't last long either as they were dismissed for playing some poor shots.

Rahane (8), though, was unlucky to be dismissed, caught behind of Morne Morkel. Richard Illingworth of England got the decision horribly wrong with the ball missing the bat by a mile.

MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina hung around for a while adding 40 runs for the fifth wicket before the skipper was sent packing by Vernon Philander.

Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin then delayed the inevitable for a while before the pacers got the best of them. 

Earlier, South African openers Quinton de Kock and Hashim Alma scored centuries as the hosts set India 281 to win in 49 overs in the second ODI at Kingsmead, Durban.

The young de Kock got his second ton of the series, smashing 106 from 118 balls with the aid of 9 fours while Amla made exactly a hundred off 117 balls as the openers added 194 for the opening wicket.

Hashim Amla
Hashim Amla scored 100 from 117 balls. Pic/AFP

India fought back well after breaking the opening stand, with Mohammed Shami grabbing three important wickets again, that of Amla, David Miller (0) and Jacques Kallis (10), but a 20-run last over bowled by Umesh Yadav lifted the Proteas to 280 for 6.

Earlier, India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni elected to bowl after winning the toss. An injured Yuvraj Singh made way for Ajinkya Rahane while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohit Sharma were replaced by Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

South Africa captain AB de Villiers made one change too - Vernon Philander coming in for Wayne Parnell.

A wet outfield delayed the start of the game which was reduced to 49 overs. 

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK