East clinch second successive title

Oct 26, 2012, 07:12 IST | Agencies

Bengal's left-arm spinner Iresh Saxena (5-58) and part-time leg-break bowler Anustup Majumdar (4-29) helped East Zone retain the Duleep Trophy title beating Central Zone by virtue of a 43-run first innings lead.

Central were bowled out for 189 in 83.5 overs in reply to East’s first innings score of 232. Opener Tanmay Srivastava was the highest run-scorer for the East Zone. He scored 94.

Brief Scores:
East Zone: 232 all out (Ishank Jaggi 100*, Jalaj Saxena 5-62) and 8 for 0
Central Zone: 189 all out (Srivastava 94, Iresh Saxena 5-58, Majumdar 4-29)  

Go to top