Ganguly not interested in replacing Kumble as Tech Committee head

Mar 03, 2015, 15:35 IST | Debasish Datta

Sourav Ganguly not keen to replace Anil Kumble as Technical Committee head after new BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya expresses desire to rope in Dada

Kolkata: Moments after Jagmohan Dalmiya was elected Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president unopposed during the Annual General Meeting in Chennai, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) boss expressed his desire to bring in former India skipper Sourav Ganguly to the BCCI fold.

Anil Kumble and Sourav Ganguly. Pic/AFP
Anil Kumble and Sourav Ganguly. Pic/AFP 

Dalmiya is keen to appoint Ganguly chief of the Technical Committee which is currently headed by former India skipper Anil Kumble. It is learnt that few members immediately requested Dalmiya to let Kumble continue for the six months as next elections will be held in September. Dalmiya, however, remained non-committal.

However, Ganguly didn't appear keen to replace Kumble. "I will have a word with Mr Dalmiya that Anil should continue till his term expires. I don't want to replace him immediately. I've played with him; he is a very respected cricketer and as a colleague, I will not accept it (the offer)."

Dalmiya's grand return
Meanwhile, the new set of BCCI office-bearers decided to continue with the Sandeep Patil-led national selection panel till the next elections in September. Dalmiya, who was the interim BCCI chief during the Indian Premier League spot fixing scandal, yesterday officially returned to the top post after a decade. Dalmiya said: "It is a victory for cleansing of cricket. It is a victory of cricket to which we are wedded."

As per the BCCI rules, it was the turn of the East Zone this year to nominate candidates for the elections. The former International Cricket Council (ICC) president, whose previous tenure as BCCI chief ended in 2004, was a 'neutral' candidate from both the factions — N Srinivasan and Sharad Pawar — in the Board. Apart from the 74-year-old Dalmiya, the other new entrant is Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association chief Anurag Thakur, who beat Sanjay Patel for the Secretary's post.

Yadav's casting vote
Srinivasan camp-backed Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) boss Amitabh Choudhary was elected as Joint-Secretary after he edged out Pawar's ally Chetan Desai (Goa Cricket Association) in a tie. Interim president and chairperson Shivlal Yadav exercised his casting vote in favour of Amitabh.

Haryana's Anirudh Chaudhary retained his post as Treasurer. Anirudh, belonging to the Srinivasan camp, defeated Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association's Rajeev Shukla, a former BCCI vice-president. Madhya Pradesh's Jyotiraditya Scindia, a former union minister belonging to the Pawar camp, lost out in the race for the Central Zone's vice-president to CK Khanna of the Delhi & District Cricket Association (DDCA).

Kerala Cricket Association's TC Mathew outvoted Pawar's candidate Ravi Sawant to become the vice-president from West Zone. ML Nehru (North Zone), Gautam Roy (East Zone) and Ganga Raju (South Zone) became new vice-presidents of their respective zones.

Go to top