ICC goof-up allows Marlon Samuels to bowl
West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels was allowed to bowl in the second ODI against Sri Lanka yesterday, thanks to International Cricket Council's goof-up
Colombo: West Indies all-rounder Marlon Samuels was allowed to bowl in the second ODI against Sri Lanka yesterday, thanks to International Cricket Council's goof-up.
The ICC shortened the grace period rule to reported bowlers from 21 days to 14 this year. "Prior to the second ODI, the West Indies team was incorrectly advised by the ICC that he was eligible to bowl in this match and then selected their team based on this information," the ICC stated in its press release.
"After tonight's match, Samuels will not be allowed to bowl in international cricket until the results of his assessment are known," the ICC said.
"Samuels was reported for a suspect bowling action on October 19 and was required to undergo an assessment within 14 days to be eligible to continue to bowl in international cricket.
Following his decision to not to undergo assessment by the November 1 cut-off date, he was automatically suspended from bowling in international cricket," the ICC added.