Misbah slams Ramdin after Champions Trophy loss

Jun 09, 2013, 01:33 IST | PA Sport

Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq slams'keeper for wrongly claiming a catch

Misbah-ul-Haq hit out at West Indies wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin for wrongly claiming a catch during Friday’s narrow victory over Pakistan at the Kia Oval here.

Misbah-ul-Haq walks back to the pavilion after West Indies ’keeper Denesh Ramdin (second from right) wrongly claimed a catch at the Oval on Friday. The umpires reversed the decision. PIC/Getty Images

Misbah scored a career high ODI score of 96 not out in his team’s two-wicket loss, but he thought he was on his way back to the pavilion without scoring after Ramdin claimed to have caught the ball after it flew off the inside edge of Kemar Roach’s bowling.

Umpire Steve Davis gave Misbah out, but after consulting with square leg umpire Nigel Llong he decided to refer the decision to the third umpire. Replays showed that Ramdin dropped the ball after diving before scooping it up and appealing for the wicket.

Misbah was unhappy with the stumper’s actions. The Pakistan captain said: “What can I say about that? He should have told (the umpire) what happened.
“I don’t know what he was thinking at that time. I don’t think I would be happy if my wicketkeeper did that.

“If you don’t know if it is (a catch) then fine, but if you know it’s not a catch you shouldn’t claim it because it’s not in the spirit of the game,” he added.

Go to top