Mumbai Marathon 2018: Winners, highlights and full coverage of the event

Updated: 22 January, 2018 09:36 IST | mid-day online correspondent | Mumbai

Solomon Deksisa, from Ethiopia, won the Mumbai Marathon 2018. Here's a complete list of all winners apart from other highlights and coverage

Winners of Mumbai Marathon 2018
Winners of Mumbai Marathon 2018 - Shumet Akalnaw, Solomon Deksisa and Joshua Kipketer. Pic/@TataMumMarathon

The richest race in India with a prize money worth 405,000 dollars came to a conclusion on Sunday with Ethiopia's Soloman Deksisa winning it. Another Ethiopian, Shumit Akalnaw became the first runner-up, while Joshua Kipkorir from Kenya came second. Meanwhile, Indian Olympic athletes T Gopi and Nitender Singh Rawat also took part in the Tata Mumbai Marathon.

While T Gopi won in the Indian Elite category, Nitender Singh Rawat came second. Sudha Singh of Central Railways won the Mumbai Marathon in the Indian Elite Women category.

Also read - Mumbai Marathon: Army man reveals he took up running first to avoid punishment

The Tata Mumbai Marathon 2018 kick-started at 5:40 am from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus today, January 21. All roads on the route of the marathon were closed for vehicular traffic till 1 pm today, except for emergency services. Not even parking of vehicles in the route was allowed.

The marathon was held in six categories.

The 42 km category (full marathon) stretched from Mahapalika Marg at CST to Bandra Reclamation, while the 21 km category (half marathon) took place between Rang Sharda Auditorium in Bandra and CST.

Women winners - Mumbai Marathon 2018

Gopi Thonakal won the Indian Men's Elite category, while Amane Gobena claimed top honours in the International Women's Elite Category.

Here's a look at some pictures and videos live from the Mumbai Marathon:

The Tata Marathon was being promoted as the largest marathon in Asia and also as the largest mass participation sports event in the continent. It is the richest race in India with a prize money worth 405,000 dollars.

A total of 17 Indian women took part in the full marathon. The best Indian men and women runners take home Rs 5 lakh and the promoters, Procam International, offered a bonus of Rs 2 lakh for breaking the course record. The top prize for the men's and women's champions was USD 42,000 and a bonus of USD 15,000 was on offer for breaking the course record.

Catch up on all the latest sports news and updates here

Download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get updates on all the latest and trending stories on the go

Trending Video

First Published: 21 January, 2018 11:35 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK