Newcastle manager Pardew banned for seven matches

Mar 12, 2014, 08:00 IST | AFP

Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew has been given a seven-match suspension and a £60,000 ($100,000, 72,000 euros) fine for headbutting Hull City midfielder David Meyler, the Football Association announced on Tuesday.

London: The 52-year-old will be banned from attending Newcastle's games for the first three matches of the ban, with the remaining four matches to be served as a touchline ban.

"Newcastle United manager Alan Pardew will serve a seven-match suspension with immediate effect, subject to any appeal, after he admitted an FA misconduct charge," read a statement on the FA website.

"An Independent Regulatory Commission today (Tuesday 11 March 2014) ruled the first three matches imposed are a stadium ban with the remaining four a touchline ban. "Pardew was also fined £60,000 and warned as to his future conduct."

Pardew learnt of his suspension after appearing before an FA disciplinary commission at Wembley Stadium in London on Tuesday and subsequently released a statement expressing regret for his behaviour.

"As I have made clear, I deeply regret the incident and again wholeheartedly apologise to all parties for my conduct, which I understand was not acceptable," he said. "I will accept the punishment handed down by the FA today (Tuesday). My focus now turns to preparing the team for this weekend's game against Fulham and finishing the season as strongly as possible."

The incident occurred during Newcastle's 4-1 victory at Hull in the Premier League on March 1, with Pardew sent to the stands after moving his head towards Meyler during a touchline confrontation in the second half. He apologised in a live television interview broadcast moments after the final whistle, describing his behaviour as "a heat-of-the-moment thing", but was swiftly hit with a £100,000 fine by his club.

The stadium ban covers Newcastle's games against Fulham, Crystal Palace and Everton, while Pardew will be banned from the touchline for fixtures against Southampton, Manchester United, Stoke City and Swansea City.

Go to top