No Indian in ICC Test Team of the Year

Aug 31, 2012, 09:11 IST | IANS

No Indian cricketer found a place in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Test Team of the Year announced yesterday

The team announcement was made by ICC Chief Executive David Richardson at the media conference for the short-lists for the ICC Awards here on September 15.

Not this time though: Indian skipper MS Dhoni led the ICC Test XI twice — 2009 and 2010. Pic/AFP

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and South Africa’s Dale Steyn earned a place in the side for the fifth successive year. The team was chosen by a specially-appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian batting legend Clive Lloyd.

It is the third year in a row that South Africa’s Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara feature in the side, while England’s Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad appear for the second year in a row.

Australia’s current captain, Michael Clarke, is named as captain of the team.

Alastair Cook (Eng), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus - captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Matt Prior (Eng - wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (Eng), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Vernon Philander (SA), Dale Steyn (SA), 12th Man - AB de Villiers (SA) 

Go to top