Rajnath to head BJP manifesto committee, Jaitley to look after publicity

Published: Jan 06, 2019, 22:18 IST | IANS | New Delhi

In all 17 committees have been announced on Sunday by BJP President Amit Shah that would look after different aspects of elections

Rajnath Singh
Rajnath Singh

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh will head the Bharatiya Janata Partys 'Sankalp Patra' (manifesto committee), while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will chair the publicity committee of the BJP for the next Lok Sabha elections.

In all 17 committees have been announced on Sunday by BJP President Amit Shah that would look after different aspects of elections.

The 20-member manifesto committee headed by Rajanth Singh has several Union Ministers including Arun Jaitley, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nirmala Sitharaman, Thaawarchand Gehlot, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Other heavyweights figuring in the Manifesto panel are Ram Madhav, former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi, Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and Lok Sabha MP Meenakshi Lekhi.

Jaitley will head an eight-member publicity committee with Union ministers Piyush Goyal, Rajyavardhan Rathore and Mahesh Sharma as it's members.

Union Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari would head the social outreach committee while External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj will head a committee that will be responsible for election-related literature.

Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been made in-charge of the 17-member media committee. Shyam Jaju will handle the social media committee.

Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav will head the committee that would handle matters pertaining to the Election Commission.

Senior leaders such as Prakash Javadekar, Kailash Vijayvargiya, Kalraj Mishr, Sadanand Gowda, S.S. Ahluwalia, Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Arun Singh, Anil Jain, Bandaru Dattatreya and Rajeev Chandrashekhar have been made members of different committees.

Lok Sabha elections are scheduled in April-May this year. Prime Minister Narendra Modi would be seeking a second consecutive term.

Catch up on all the latest Crime, National, International and Hatke news here. Also, download the new mid-day Android and iOS apps to get latest updates

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Except for the change in the headline, the story has been provided "AS-IS," "AS AVAILABLE, without any verification or editing from our side. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever.

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com


Maharashtra Elections 2019: Pankaja Munde and Dhananjay Munde battle it out for Parli

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK