Home > Sports News > Cricket News > Article > Ravi Ashwin suggests change in LBW rule during switch hit

Ravi Ashwin suggests change in LBW rule during switch hit

Updated on: 14 July,2022 07:33 AM IST  |  Mumbai
PTI |

As per current rules, a player can’t be ruled leg before even if it goes onto hit the stumps in case it is pitched outside leg-stump, which is considered to be a ‘blind spot’ for the batters

Ravi Ashwin suggests change in LBW rule during switch hit

Ravichandran Ashwin


Ace India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin feels that the batters should be adjudged leg before wicket even if the ball is pitched outside leg stump if they miss out on an attempted switch hit. As per current rules, a player can’t be ruled leg before even if it goes onto hit the stumps in case it is pitched outside leg-stump, which is considered to be a ‘blind spot’ for the batters.


“My question is not whether he can play reverse sweep or not, whether it’s negative bowling strategy or not [bowling outside leg stump], my point is about lbw. It’s unfair that it’s not ruled lbw,” Ashwin said on his YouTube channel. “Let batters play the switch hit, but give us LBW when they miss. How can you say it is not LBW when the batter turns? If they start giving that out in all formats of the game, some parity could be retained between bowling and batting,” maintained Ashwin, who has 442 Test wickets.



The off-spinner referred to the recently-concluded fifth Test between India and England where the hosts chased a record 378-run score to level the five match series 2-2, riding on unbeaten hundreds from Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow. “In this game, it was about the approach that Joe Root and [Jonny] Bairstow took. Root played about 10 shots, where he turned around completely and attempted the reverse sweep.


“He played that 10 times, but didn’t connect on nine of them. On the 10th time, it got the under-edge and rolled away. Bairstow, meanwhile, kept padding the balls away,” said Ashwin. Blind spot is when a ball pitches outside the leg stump and is not visible to a batter while standing in his original stance.

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever

Register for FREE
to continue reading !

This is not a paywall.
However, your registration helps us understand your preferences better and enables us to provide insightful and credible journalism for all our readers.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK