They fought a bitter battle against each other, but now seem to have decided to bury their differences for the larger good — i.e. getting control of the Kalyan Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC).

On Saturday, the Shiv Sena (which won 52 seats out of the 122 seats) and BJP (which won 42) announced their alliance saying that for the first 2.5 years and the last 1.5 years the mayor’s post will be held by Shiv Sena, while the BJP will hold the post for the one year in the middle.

The strategy it seems was decided by Sudhir Mungantiwar from BJP and Eknath Shinde from Shiv Sena. For the first two years, the standing committee will be under the BJP and for the next two years it will under the Shiv Sena. The fate of the fifth year will be decided upon later.

BJP and Shiv Sena’s fight in KDMC during election was a bitter one. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis had called the Shiv Sena a ‘Drama Party’ and Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray had threatened to withdraw support from the state government.