India protest Vikas' ouster

Hours after Vikas was declared the winner of the bout 13-11, the competition jury of AIBA ruled on an American protest on Friday night that Vikas committed nine holding fouls in the third and last round and also intentionally spit his mouth guard in Round Two. '

Vikas Krishan is declared winner against Errol Spence. The result was later overturned. Pic/Getty Images

The mouthpiece incident, AIBA felt, invites a deduction of four points and that meant the 13-11 decision in Vikas’ favour went for a toss and the American was through to the quarters. “We are looking at the video of the bout. In our opinion, fouls were committed by the American as well, he too should have been penalised,” said India Chef-de-Mission PK Muralidharan Raja. 

You May Like



    Leave a Reply