The Indian squad, comprising of 13 junior players, took an early lead in the 12th minute, thanks to a Gurjinder Singh penalty stroke.

However, their joy was short-lived as Yasuhiro Nakayama scored in the 23rd minute before rounding off the hosts’ tally in the 54th minute.¬†India had earlier faltered 0-1 against China.¬†