Vinayak Nimhan
Number of Voters 50,918
2014 candidates: Vinayak Nimhan (Congress), Anil Bhosale (NCP), Vijay Kale (BJP), Milind Ekbote (Shiv Sena), Raju Pawar (MNS)

Vinayak Nimhan

Constituency history: BJP won assembly elections from this constituency twice – in 1980 and 1985. Later, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance was elected from this seat four times (1990- 2004).


Due to delimitation of the constituency in 2009, some of its parts were annexed to Kothrud, reducing BJP’s hold on this zone. That year, Vinayak Nimhan – a former Shiv Sainik – won the election on the Congress ticket.

Local dynamics: The constituency is home turf for Nimhan, who is known to possess considerable money and muscle power. He was voted to power for three consecutive terms, twice with the Shiv Sena, and once with Congress.

Dividing the dominant Maratha votes in the constituency will be NCP’s Anil Bhosale.

BJP has also fielded a Maratha candidate, Vijay Kale, who will further divide the Maratha votes, as well as draw voters from affluent areas such as Baner and Aundh, who have traditionally voted for his party.

Milind Ekbote, a staunch Hindutva activist, is representing Shiv Sena in the fight.

MNS’ Raju Pawar, who is currently a corporator, will also provide a challenge, as he already has significant clout in some pockets of the constituency