Narendra Modi elected BJP parliamentary party leader

New Delhi: Narendra Modi was elected as leader of the BJP parliamentary party, paving the way to his becoming the prime minister on Tuesday.

Modi has officially been chosen as the leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party

At a meeting held here, Modi's name was proposed by party patriarch L.K. Advani and seconded by other leaders including Murli Manohar Joshi, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley.

The Modi-led BJP won a staggering 282 seats in the 545-member Lok Sabha, becoming the first non-Congress party since independence to get a majority on its own.

The election took place in the central hall of parliament.

Party president Rajnath Singh said that Modi was visiting the central hall for the first time.

    Leave a Reply