Notification issued on formation of Palghar as new district

Thane: The state government has issued a notification here regarding formation of Palghar, which is set to become the 36th district of Maharashtra.

Also read: India's most populous district Thane to be split; Palghar set to be Maharashtra's 36th district

According to an official release, a notification has been issued on June 17 on formation of the new district along with details of the eight talukas- Palghar, Jawahar, Mokhada, Talasari, Vasai, Wada, Dahanu and Vikramgad forming Palghar.

The new district will come into beign from August 01, 2014, it said. In addition to it, the government has also called for suggestions and objections from the citizen with regard to the formation of new district, which should be submitted to the office of the Divisional Commissioner at Konkan Bhavan, Navi Mumbai by July 15.

It also mentioned that the district headquarters will be located at Palghar.

    Leave a Reply