Rahil Gangjee creates course record at Louis Philippe golf

Mumbai: Rahil Gangjee of AVT Kolkata stole the opening day honours as he fired a new course record of 62 (8-under) in Round One of the Louis Philippe Cup at the par-70 Bombay Presidency Golf Club here Wednesday.

His blazing effort bettered the previous record of 63 (7-under) set by Gurbaaz Mann in 2010.

The 35-year-old Gangjee's remarkable feat ensured that the Kolkata team finished the day in front of the nine-team pack with a score of 129 (11-under). Gangjee's teammate Shankar Das finished with a card of 67 (3-under) while third member of the team Chiragh Kumar was 3-over. As per the format the scores of the best two players are taken into consideration as the team total.

Krrish Colombo, Puravankara Bangalore and TAKE Chennai, jointly shared the third position, all with a score of 131 (9-under).

Navratna Ahmedabad with a combined total of 133 were placed fifth, while Jaypee Greens Greater Noida and Dev Ellora Lakshya Mumbai, jointly occupied the sixth spot with 135.

Shubhkamna Delhi were eighth with a score of 137 followed by DLF Gurgaon in ninth spot with 143.

Gangjee was surprised when informed that he had broken the course record. "It's awesome. I didn't even know about the record. My best score on this course was 6-under as an amateur in 2000-01," he said.

"I had a total of 10 birdies, including five in a row on the back nine which was much easier as compared to the front nine," he added.

Louis Philippe Cup 2014 - Team standings (Round 1):
AVT Kolkata 11-under-129 (Rahil Gangjee 62, Shankar Das 67, Chiragh Kumar 75); Puravankara Bangalore 9-under-131 (Anirban Lahiri 65, M Dharma 66, S Chikkarangappa 66); Krrish Colombo 9-under-131 (Himmat Rai 65, K Prabagaran 66, N Thangaraja 72); Take Chennai 9-under-131 (SSP Chowrasia 65, Manav Jaini 66, Mukesh Kumar 71); Navratna Ahmedabad 7-under-133 (Vikrant Chopra 72, Vinod Kumar 65, Mithun Perera 68); Jaypee Greens Greater Noida 5-under-135 (Angad Cheema 67, Sanjay Kumar 68, Gaganjeet Bhullar 69); Dev Ellora Laqshya Mumbai 5-under-135 (Jyoti Randhawa 67, Mohd Zamal Hossain Mollah 68, Harendra Gupta 70); Shubhkamna Delhi 3-under-137 (Shamim Khan 65, Rashid Khan 72, Jeev Milkha Singh 74); DLF Gurgaon 3-over-143 (Abhijit Chadha 70, Abhinav Lohan 74, Siddikur Rahman 73).



    Leave a Reply