Lok Sabha elections 2024: Voting for six seats in Mumbai, 13 in Maharashtra on May 20; Piyush Goyal, Ujjwal Nikam in fray

19 May,2024 09:17 PM IST |  Mumbai  |  mid-day online correspondent

More than 2.46 crore persons are eligible to cast vote and decide the fate of 264 candidates

Representational Pic/File/iStock

Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Voting in six Lok Sabha constituencies in Mumbai and 13 seats in Maharashtra will be held on Monday, May 20, in the fifth and last phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 in the state.

More than 2.46 crore persons are eligible to cast vote and decide the fate of 264 candidates in Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South, Thane, Kalyan, Bhiwandi, Palghar, Nashik, Dindori and Dhule seats, according to the PTI.

Union ministers Piyush Goyal, a BJP candidate from Mumbai North, Bharati Pawar (Dindori) and Kapil Patil (Bhiwandi) are among the key nominees of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has also fielded lawyer Ujjwal Nikam from Mumbai North Central.

Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena's Shrikant Shinde has been fielded from Kalyan seat and Mumbai Congress chief Varsha Gaikwad is contesting the Lok Sabha elections 2024 from the Mumbai North Central seat.

Voting will be conducted from 7 am to 6 pm in 24,553 polling centres, as per the PTI.

The main contest is between the ruling Mahayuti comprising the Shiv Sena, BJP and NCP, and the opposition alliance of the Shiv Sena (UBT), Congress and NCP (SP).

Mumbai, Thane and Palghar where 10 of these 13 seats are located form a major part of the Mumbai Metropolitan Region, one of the most urbanised pockets in the country.

Altogether, 2,46,69,544 persons are eligible to cast vote, including 1,31,38,526 men, 1,15,28,278 women and 2,740 from the third gender.

The Shiv Sena led by Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde has fielded its candidates in Mumbai South, Mumbai North West, and Mumbai South Central seats, while the ruling BJP has put up candidates in Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central and Mumbai North East constituencies.

The opposition Shiv Sena (UBT) led by former CM Uddhav Thackeray Thackeray has put up candidates in Mumbai South, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai North East and Mumbai North West as part of the seat-sharing deal with its Maha Vikas Aghadi partners NCP (SP) and Congress.

Congress candidates are in the fray in Mumbai North Central and Mumbai North in the metropolis.

Thane and Kalyan, where the rival Senas are pitted against each other, are prestige battles for CM Shinde as they fall under his political turf.

CM Shinde's close aide Naresh Mhaske and his son Shrikant Shinde are the Shiv Sena nominees in Thane and Kalyan, respectively.

The contest is between BJP and Sena (UBT) in Palghar, while BJP and NCP (SP) are the main contenders in the textile manufacturing hub of Bhiwandi.

Dhule is witnessing a BJP versus Congress fight. In Dindori, it is BJP versus Sharad Pawar-led NCP (SP), while CM Shinde's Shiv Sena and Thackeray-headed Shiv Sena (UBT) are facing off in Nashik.

The Mumbai Police will depute nearly 30,000 security personnel to ensure smooth voting in the city, officials said on Saturday.

At least 2,752 officers and 27,460 other personnel, including from three units of the riot control police, will be on bandobast duty on the election day in the metropolis, they said.

Five officers in the rank of Additional Commissioner of Police, 25 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) and 77 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) will be leading various teams during the bandobast, an official said.

Nearly 5,000 policemen, 6,200 home guards and 36 units of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) will also be brought from outside for the voting day, he said.
Out of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, polling in 35 seats was held in four phases on April 19, April 26, May 7 and May 13.

Votes will be counted on June 4.

(with PTI inputs)

"Exciting news! Mid-day is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!
mumbai mumbai news Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Maharashtra Lok Sabha elections 2024 maharashtra India news
Related Stories