4 corporators held in Thane builder Suraj Parmar's suicide case

Updated: 08 December, 2015 10:27 IST | Vinay Dalvi |

Thane-based builder Suraj Parmar had committed suicide by shooting himself on October 7; Bombay High Court rejects anticipatory bail of all four accused

Four corporators who find mention in builder Suraj Parmar’s suicide note presented themselves before the Thane police on Saturday. The Bombay High Court had asked the four to surrender after rejecting their anticipatory bail application.

Also read: Thane builder's suicide case - High Court tells 4 TMC corporators to surrender

Vikrant Chavan, Hanumant Jagdale, Sudhakar Chavan and Najib Mulla. Pics/Datta Kumbhar
Vikrant Chavan, Hanumant Jagdale, Sudhakar Chavan and Najib Mulla. Pics/Datta Kumbhar

Thane National Congress Party’s Najeeb Mulla and Hanumant Jagdale, Indian National Congress’ Vikrant Chavan and independent candidate Sudhakar Chavan had asked for bail on December 1. Their names were written by Parmar, the chairperson of Cosmos Group, in a suicide note that alleged continuous harassment for bribes by a nexus of corporators.

Also read: Thane builder's suicide: 4 corporators move court, but cops can't find them

Parmar, 46, shot himself on October 7. The Thane police registered an offence and the investigations were handed to ACP Dilip Gore. Special Public Prosecutor Raja Thakare, appointed by the Thane police in the case, argued in the Bombay High Court that Rs 1 crore was transferred to the account of NCP MLA Jeetendra Awhad from Mulla’s account.

Thakare also stated that around Rs 19 crores have been exchanged from Parmar’s account to several bureaucrats. The Thane police also claimed that this arrest would lead them to solve a murder that had taken place 25 years ago. One of the corporators was the alleged accused in that case. “We are investigating,” said Joint Commissioner of police, Thane, VV Laxminarayana.

Politicians named in diary
Meanwhile, the Thane police have found Parmar’s old diary, in which he has mentioned that he paid several politicians, urban development officers of the Thane Municipal Corporation and Mantralaya, and MHADA officers.

The politicians who received kickbacks from Parmar:
>> Two Thane Shiv Sena leaders: Rs 10 lakh
>> Thane NCP leader: Rs 5 lakh
>> One of the corporators in the suicide note: Rs 5 lakh
>> Congress corporator: Rs 5 lakh
>> Republican Party of Indian leader: Rs 5 lakh
>> One Thane MNS leader: Rs 5 lakh

First Published: 06 December, 2015 14:00 IST

Sign up for all the latest news, top galleries and trending videos from Mid-day.com

loading image
This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK