Divide Uttar Pradesh into four states: Mayawati

Jul 31, 2013, 12:33 IST | Agencies

The Bahujan Samaj Party demanded splitting of Uttar Pradesh into four smaller states Wednesday, a day after the Congress Working Committee (CWC) urged the government to form a separate state of Telangana.

"We have always supported smaller states," BSP chief Mayawati said here at a press conference.

She said Uttar Pradesh should be divided into four smaller states -- Purvanchal, Bundelkhand, Awadh Pradesh and Pashchim Pradesh.

BSP chief Mayawati. File pic

"When this population is divided between four states, development will increase," she said.

"Ministers in central government who hail from Uttar Pradesh should build pressure on the central government for formation of these states," she added.

Go to top