Last day today, just one candidate files nomination so far

Sep 26, 2011, 08:29 IST | Priyankka Deshpande

Officials at state public relations office expect last-minute rush to submit forms for bypolls; party indecision over candidates may be behind delay

Officials at state public relations office expect last-minute rush to submit forms for bypolls; party indecision over candidates may be behind delay
It is for the first time in the last 20 years history of the state assembly elections that candidates of all the major political parties for Khadakwasla bypoll are filing their nomination on the last day. The officials at the office of Information and Public Relation (IPR) of Government of Maharashtra confirmed this fact. As many as 51 aspiring candidates have secured the nomination forms till date.

Best for the last: Harshada, widow of late MLA Ramesh Wanjale, will
file her nominations for the Khadakwasla by-elections today as it is
supposed to be an auspicious day. File pic

Polling for the Khadakwasla by-election will be held on October 13, and Monday is the last day of filing the nomination form. "I am aware about the general tendency of the candidates to keep a watch on the political developments of the rival parties for a few days and then file the nomination form after two to three days from the date of commencement of nomination form. However, in the last 20 years of the history of state assembly elections, we have observed this for the first time. We are now likely to witness heavy rush on Monday," said an information officer of IPR.

On Friday, only one candidate filed his nomination paper who claimed to be the official candidate of Bhartiya Minority's Surksha Mahasangh, which is not a major political party. The delay by political parties in announcing the candidature is the main reason for no one filing the nomination since September 19. The inauspicious days also kept away many from filing their nomination. Whether the issue of entry of Harshada Wanjale in NCP, or the internal conflict between BJP and Shiv Sena over the distribution of tickets, the bypoll has already become much controversial before the actual date of election.

In the meantime, BJP has announced Bhimrao Tapkir as party's official candidate for the bypoll. Vikas Mathkari, president of city unit of BJP, said: "BJP and Shiv Sena do not have any kind of internal conflict over the issue of ticket distribution."

Shiv Sena leader in the PMC Sham Deshpande said, "Our leader Uddhav Thackeray has already announced in Mumbai that the party will give its support to the BJP candidate. We will campaign for Tapkir."

Rift in Cong-NCP
The tussle between Congress and NCP has also come in the open with the resignation of Shrirang Chavan from party's district membership. Chavan said that many party workers were dissatisfied with the decision of the party to give the Khadakwasla seat to NCP. He said the NCP had pressurised Congress to give it the ticket. Chavan will file his nomination form as an independent candidate on Monday.

10.11 am right time for Wanjale wife
Nationalist Congress Party leader Harshada Wanjale is filing her nomination today, exactly at 10.11 am for the Khadakwasla bypoll. Although party sources have been saying that it is because of the party symbol that shows a clock, Wanjale said she had referred to a  panchang for an auspicious muhurat to file her nomination. The seat fell vacant after the demise of Wanjale's husband and MNS leader Ramesh Wanjale. NCP's organisational secretary of city Ranjeet Pardeshi said, "Wanjale is also religious like her husband and she wants to file her nomination on a auspicious day and time." Pardeshi said today was an auspicious day, although Pitrupaksha had not ended.

Go to top