Lok Sabha Election Results 2014 Live Coverage: Election Counting to start at 8 AM, General Election Poll Results to be out by 4 PM on 16th May 2014

May 15, 2014, 15:22 IST | A Correspondent

For a country that is eargerly awaiting the verdict of the Lok Sabha Elections 2014, D-Day is May 16th. The counting of their votes will start at 8am on Friday across 989 counting centres and the Election Commission (EC) officials have stated that nearly all trends would be in by 11am and the final Lok Sabha Election Results 2014 known by approximately 3-4pm.

Lok Sabha Election Results 2014: The Election counting is the world's largest exercise in democracy in which voters turned up in record numbers will be taken up on May 16 with exit polls projecting BJP of which Narendra Modi is the Prime Ministerial candidate to be the single largest party. The most awaited Lok Sabha Election 2014 Results will be declared tomorrow i.e. 16 May 2014 by 4 pm.

Get the Lok Sabha Election live coverage at http://www.mid-day.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2014

Lok Sabha Election Results 2014

With Election counting due to start at 8am on May 16 across 989 counting centers’, Election Commission officials are confident that nearly all trends would be in by 11AM and the final results known by 3-4 PM.

The 2014 Election polls to elect the 16th Lok Sabha have been the longest and most expensive in the country's history, taking place in nine phases from April 7 to May 12. A total number of 8,230 candidates participated in the elections across the country for the 543 Lok Sabha seats.Election Commission stated that, from 20 countries 50 delegates are invited to be a witness of Lok Sabha Elections Voting Results.

First segment of Election Counting will be focused on Postal ballots and then the counting of votes from Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will begin after half-an-hour. The counting of postal ballot will start at 8:00AM tomorrow and just after half an hour the counting of EVM votes will start i.e. at 8.30 am, the proclamation is announced by Electronic Commission officials.

The entire process of election counting will be properly video graphed so that in case of any controversy can be used as a proof.

EVMs would be taken to the all the counting centres on the same day in the morning, before the counting starts to avoid any mismanagement. To make a smooth counting process the actual vote counting preparation will start at morning 5am on 16 May. Tight security arrangements would take care of any mis-happening, the Election Commision stated.

While polling was by and large peaceful in the nine phases, there were some incidents of Maoist violence in Chattisgarh and Jharkand. The country registered a record turnout of voters, surpassing the previous record in 1984.

According to the Election Commission of India, the electoral population in 2014 is 814.5 million with an increase in newly eligible voters of 100 million since the last general election in 2009.

With the the Supreme Court ruling in 2013 that there should be a new choice on the ballot: None of the above (NOTA). While NOTA has been made available to voters in assembly elections before, it was introduced in Lok Sabha Election Polls only this year and many voters who are fed up of all political parties chose this new player in the game.

The 10-week-long campaigning for the elections saw all political parties indulging in mud-slinging and personal attacks like never before.

Gujarat CM Modi spearheaded the BJP challenge and criss-crossed the country addressing scores of rallies besides holding innovative 'chai par charcha' meetings and also 3D video campaign. According to some estimates, Modi has addressed approximately 800 to 900 rallies. The Nehru-Gandhi family also made a vigorous push for votes with Rahul, his mother and Congress President Sonia Gandhi, and his sister Priyanka Vadra Gandhi leading the party challenge.

User can get the Lok Sabha Election live coverage at http://www.mid-day.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2014 in English and at http://www.jagran.com in Hindi throughout the day! The Election Commission officials have also stated that the election poll results would be known by 11 am and the final voting results would be out between 3 pm and 4 pm. The first trends are likely to trickle in by 8.30 am. We can see the trend of the largest party which can win the poll by 11 am.

Celebrity Candidates

A large number of celebrities from non-political spheres are also trying their luck at the hustings. The celebs include: Mohammad Kaif (Congress), Ravi Kishan (Congress), Nandan Nilekani (Congress), Gul Panag (AAP), Moon Moon Sen (TMC), Dev (TMC), Bhaichung Bhutia (TMC), Biswajit Chatterjee (TMC), Indranil Sen (TMC), Prakash Jha (JD(U)), Paresh Rawal (BJP), Kirron Kher (BJP), P. C. Sorcar, Jr. (BJP), Babul Supriyo (BJP), Pawan Kalyan (JSP), Kamaal Rashid Khan (SP), Mahesh Manjrekar (MNS), Rakhi Sawant (Rashtriya Aam Party), Jaaved Jaaferi (AAP), Bappi Lahiri (BJP) and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (BJP).

Go to top