Mamata Banerjee sworn in as West Bengal CM for second time

May 27, 2016, 13:22 IST | PTI

Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee was on Friday sworn in as West Bengal chief minister for the second time

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee was on Friday sworn in as West Bengal chief minister for the second time.

Mamata BanerjeeMamata Banerjee. Pic/PTI

Banerjee was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi before a galaxy of political leaders and thousands of common people on a makeshift dais at the Indira Gandhi Sarani (Red Road) here.

Banerjee, the state's eighth chief minister and the first woman to occupy the post, took her oath in Bengali.

Among those present were Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Bangladesh Industry Minister Amir Hossain Amu, union ministers Arun Jaitley and Babul Supriyo, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Farooq Abdullah.

The prominent Cabinet ministers who took oath along with Banerjee were Amit Mitra, Partha Chatterjee, Subrata Mukherjee, Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, Abani Joardar, Firhad Hakim, Arup Roy, Gautam Deb, Sovan Chatterjee, Javed Khan, Abdur Rezzak Mollah, Suvendu Adhikari, Jyotipriya Mullick, Purnendu Bose, Rabindra Nath Ghosh, Bratya Basu, Santiram Mahato, Ashis Banerjee, Arup Biswas.

The ministers of state who were sworn in, included cricketer Lakshmi Ratan Shukla and singer Indranil Sen. A galaxy of political leaders were present at the ceremony. Among them were Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, his Bihar counterpart Nitish Kumar, RJD chief Lalu Prasad, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah and DMK leader Kanimozhi.

The 18 new faces in the council of ministers are Suvendu Adhikari, Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, Churamoni Mahato, Tapan Dasgupta, Asima Patra, Indranil Sen, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Shyamal Santra, Golam Rabbani, Siddikullah Chowdhury, Abdur Rezzak Mollah, Jakir Hossain, James Kujur, Rabindra Nath Ghosh, Sandhyarani Tudu, Abani Joardar, Bachchu Hansda and Sovan Chatterjee, who is also the Mayor of Kolkata.

Trinamool Congress has won 211 out of the 294 seats in the West Bengal Assembly.

Go to top