SP, Congress stun BJP in Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan

Sep 17, 2014, 02:21 IST | Agencies

While the Samajwadi Party won eight of the 11 assembly seats in UP, Congress bagged three of the four seats in Rajasthan

Lucknow/Jaipur: The Congress and the Samajwadi Party (SP), which suffered a rout in the general elections, bounced back in the assembly by-polls in Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh.

Samajwadi party
Pedalling their way through: Samajwadi Party (SP) workers celebrate the party’s victory at the Uttar Pradesh by-polls in Allahabad on Tuesday. Pic/PTI

Buoyed by the performance of the SP, which won eight of the 11 assembly seats yesterday, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav said he was happy that the people of the state had reposed faith in his party and given thumbs
down to the ‘communal’ politics of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).


“We are happy and thankful that people have preferred development and prosperity over false hopes and communal politics that BJP practised,” he said.

The BJP, which had won all the 11 seats in the 2012 assembly elections, managed to retain just three of those seats.

The BJP faced a similar fate in Rajasthan, as it managed to save only one of the four seats in Kota South constituency. The Congress candidates won from Weir, Surajgarh and Nasirabad constituencies.

An upbeat Sachin Pilot, Rajasthan state president for Congress, described yesterday’s victory as ‘a win of our party workers’.

“Despite the use of official machinery by the BJP, we have won. The BJP did nothing since it came to power.

On the contrary, it stopped the social welfare schemes,” Pilot said. He added that the party was now looking forward to the municipal and panchayat polls in the state, which are due in the next few months.

Commenting on the party’s loss, Kailash Nath Bhatt Rajasthan state spokesperson for the BJP, said, “This result does not reflect the performance of the (Vasundhara) Raje government. It was fought more on local issues. Yes, the party will sit and introspect
on the results.”

Other results

In Andhra Pradesh, the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) retained Nandigama assembly seat, while the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) defended the Medak seat in the neighbouring state Telangana.

Shamik Bhattacharya
Shamik Bhattacharya

Modi magic has faded: TMC
Kolkata: Even as the BJP made inroads in West Bengal, winning the Basirhat South assembly seat in a by-poll, the ruling Trinamool Congress, which retained the Chowringhee seat, yesterday claimed the magic surrounding Narendra Modi had faded after coming to power.

Expressing happiness over the poll result, Trinamool national general secretary, Mukul Roy, asserted that his party would bag more than two-thirds of total number of seats in the 2016 assembly polls.

“The results across the country have now proved that within 100 days of its coming to power, the BJP has been losing people’s faith in it. The Modi magic has faded,” he said.

Silver linings for BJP
>> Though the BJP received a drubbing in UP and Rajasthan, it managed to make inroads in West Bengal. After 15 long years, the party will have a representative in the assembly. Party candidate Shamik Bhattacharya (in pic) won the Basirhat (South) seat, while the state’s ruling party, Trinamool Congress (TMC), retained the Chowringhee seat

 Bhattacharya defeated TMC candidate and former soccer captain, Dipendu Biswas, in a hard-fought battle by a slender margin of over 1,000 votes

 The only time the BJP had a legislator in the state was  in 1999, after Badal Bhattacharya won the Ashoknagar assembly seat. However, the BJP was in alliance with the TMC then

 While the BJP won six assembly seats in Gujarat, the Congress bagged three — Deesa, Khambhalia and Mangrol. By-polls for nine assembly seats — Maninagar, Deesa, Tankara, Khambhalia, Mangrol, Talaja, Anand, Matar and Limkheda, and Lok Sabha (LS) seat Vadodara — were held on September 13

 The BJP, the Congress and LS member Badaruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF won one assembly seat each in Assam, an official said. The BJP snatched one seat (Silchar) from the Congress in the by-polls held on September 13 for Silchar, Lakhipur and Jamunamukh constituencies

Go to top