Congress will win both Amethi, Raebareli seats with huge majority: Congress leader Ashok Gehlot

18 May,2024 11:49 AM IST |  Amethi (Uttar Pradesh)  |  mid-day online correspondent

Sonia Gandhi contested and won Amethi in 1999 before passing the baton on to Rahul in 2004. Before Sonia, former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi had won from Raebareli three times

Ashok Gehlot. File pic

Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Congressman Ashok Gehlot, a former chief minister of Rajasthan, stated on Friday that he was confident his party would win the 2024 Lok Sabha election. He predicted the Congress would establish an INDIA bloc government and win both the Amethi and Raebareli seats with a sizable majority. "The government will be formed on June 4th, when the INDIA alliance will receive favourable results. Nobody took the BJP's statements seriously, and the INDIA coalition spread over the entire nation. He told ANI that "Congress is going to win both the Amethi and Raebareli seats with a huge majority."

Meanwhile, Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Congress Leader Sonia Gandhi and Congress candidate from Raebareli constituency Rahul Gandhi held a joint rally along with Samajwadi Party Chief and candidate from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat Akhilesh Yadav in Uttar Pradesh's Raebareli on Friday.

Per an ANI report, Odisha is holding both the Lok Sabha and assembly elections at the same time. Beginning on May 13, the four phases of the Lok Sabha and assembly elections will also take place on May 20, May 25, and June 1. On May 3, the Congress declared Rahul from Raebareli and loyalist KL Sharma from Amethi as its candidates, eliminating Priyanka and Vadra from the race. Union Minister Smriti Irani defeated Rahul in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, and now Sharma faces her.

Rahul has represented the Amethi seat in Parliament since 2004 and served as the constituency's representative until 2019. From 1981 until his passing in 1991, Rajiv Gandhi, his father and the previous prime minister, was an elected member of the Lower House representing Amethi. Before handing the reins to Rahul in 2004, Sonia Gandhi ran for and won Amethi in 1999. Former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi had defeated Raebareli three times before Sonia. The fifth phase of elections in the Rae Bareli constituency takes place on May 20.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Congress leader Sonia Gandhi won the constituency, bagging 5,34,918 votes. Her closest rival, Dinesh Pratap Singh, put up a formidable challenge, gathering 3,67,740 votes.

(With Inputs from ANI)

"Exciting news! Mid-day is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!
Lok Sabha Elections 2024 congress amethi news national news
Related Stories