budget icon

Get Your Mid-Day Gold Yearly Subscription now at Rs 899 Rs 499!

Home > Sports News > Cricket News > Article > West Indies announce 13 member ODI squad for India series

West Indies announce 13-member ODI squad for India series

Updated on: 18 July,2022 10:20 AM IST  |  Port-of-Spain

The big talking point was Jason Holder's return to the squad after he was left out of the recent ODI series against Bangladesh

West Indies announce 13-member ODI squad for India series

Gudakesh Motie celebrates the dismissal of Afif Hossain during the 3rd and final ODI between West Indies and Bangladesh. Pic/ AFP

Former captain Jason Holder has returned to a 13-member West Indies squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India, beginning here on July 22.

The seasoned all-rounder was not part for the preceding home T20 series against Bangladesh, but the Cricket West Indies selection panel decided to recall him for the assignments against India.

Nicholas Pooran will continue to lead the side after his impressive outing in the series against Bangladesh. While the West Indies were swept aside 0-3 by Bangladesh, Pooran scored a 39-ball 74 in the third T20.

Shai Hope will be Pooran's deputy.

"As we all know Jason is one of the leading all-round cricketers in the world and we're happy to have him back in the team," chief selector Desmond Haynes was quoted as saying by Cricket West Indies in a statement.

Also Read: Cricketers and fans react to India's series clinching victory against England

"He will be refreshed, re-energised and ready to go and we can expect to see his brilliance on the field as well as meaningful contributions off the field as well."

After the debacle against Bangladesh, Haynes hoped the team would be able to turn things around against India.

"We had a very challenging three matches against Bangladesh in Guyana so we will be looking to rebound when we face India in the conditions in Trinidad."

"We have seen some growth among some players, but overall we need to regroup and play better against the Indians," Haynes added.

The three matches will be played on July 22, 24 and 27 at the Queen's Park Oval.

The squad: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Mid-day accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability and data of the text. Mid-day management/mid-day.com reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content in its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever

Register for FREE
to continue reading !

This is not a paywall.
However, your registration helps us understand your preferences better and enables us to provide insightful and credible journalism for all our readers.

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK